Once; A Review

musical, Theatre

There was a lot of hype about Once, and I went to see it yesterday with my sister. It was enjoyable certainly, but it did not quite live up to the hype and in some ways was wholly unsatisfying.

It is unique and unusual, and I think this takes a bit of getting used to. Almost all of the characters are very odd, which creates very humorous moments when combined with the cynical and much more normal main character. The romance between the two characters (who are simply named Boy and Girl, which makes talking about the play much more difficult) is great. The music, whilst not exactly “hits” as they were mostly quite slow, were beautiful and were the kind that I would listen to regularly; the best ones being “Falling slowly” and “Gold.”

However, the comedy of the play was very hit and miss – some moments were very funny, whereas others (and these potentially came more often) were much more WTF worthy. The ending was completely unsatisfying, and whilst I understand that it was meant to be realistic, it was still disappointing. I don’t necessarily want a happy ending – although those are much preferred – but I do want an ending, and this one was very lacklustre.

Although enjoyable and sweet, it didn’t quite live up to my expectations. I would give it a 6.5 – 7 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

