Top Ten Tuesday; Summer To Be Read List

Books

I have an affinity for lists, and so I’ve decided to start joining in with The Broke and The Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday and this week it is your summer TBR list;

16275049 13508607 81Dg+wSmJOL._SL1500_ 91E3iOgMa6L._SL1500_ images1OL6QZ7Y n3215361 emma-jane-austen 9780316010702_custom-2c86f7380b84be8734de6713c7576c55f9da2c7f-s6-c30 ageofinnocence 1469

1. Cruel Summer by James Dawson
This seems like the perfect holiday book; it’s set in a Spanish villa and is about a group of friends who are told that their friend, who they believed committed suicide, was murdered.
2. The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton
I’ve really enjoyed some of Kate Morton’s other books, and although I attempted to read this before I know she’s not the best at beginnings, so I think a long holiday is the perfect opportunity to get through it.
3. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith
I love a good murder mystery, and – added bonus- it’s written by JK Rowling, so I’m especially excited for this.
4. The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
The Graveyard Book is about the only Neil Gaiman book I’ve read (although I did read Stardust ages ago, but I feel it needs a reread as I can remember nothing about it) and that book demonstrated Gaiman’s great ability to tell a story.
5. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
I’m planning to read more classics in the summer, and this is one of the ones I’m most eager for. I recently read Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (the sister of Emily, who wrote this book), and I’ve heard very good things about Wuthering Heights.
6. The Making of A Marchioness by Frances Hodgson Burnett
Frances Hodgson Burnett is – of course – known for her childhood classics “The Little Princess” and “The Secret Garden” but I’m eager to try out this novel, which is a combination of the classic Cinderella story with a more gothic thriller aspect.
7. Emma by Jane Austen
I started reading this a while ago, but I got quite busy so I didn’t manage to finish it. Although I know it will not live up to Pride and Prejudice, I like the idea of Emma, the nosey, slightly unlikable protagonist, and there are so many adaptations of it which I’ve been saving up to watch until after I’ve read the book.
8. Case Histories by Kate Atkinson
I’ve heard very good things about this book, and I do love a good murder mystery, so I’m optimistic.
9. The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
I know very little about this book, other than that my sister recommended it, and my other knowledge is based on the Gossip Girl episode in which they perform it, so I just hope it lives up to my sister’s praise.
10. Vanity Fair by William Thackery
Although it’s very long – which I must admit has put me off slightly – I am intrigued by Becky Sharp, who sounds fabulous.

Leave a Reply

