Top Ten Tuesday; Ten Classics You Want to Read

Books, Classics

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme started by The Broke and The Bookish, and this week it is ten classics. Although they actually said 10 favourite classics, I haven’t read quite enough classics yet to write that, but I’m eager to so instead this week it is the 10 classics I want to read.

images1OL6QZ7Y untitled frankenstein ageofinnocence jekyll-and-hydeuntitled (2)emma-jane-austen146981kCPxeUepL._SL1500_untitled (3)

1. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

2. Dracula by Bram Stoker

3. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

4. Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

5. Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

6. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

7. Emma by Jane Austen

8. Vanity Fair by William Thackeray

9. A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams

10. The Handmaiden’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday; Ten Classics You Want to Read

  1. Dracula is AWESOME. I taught it to my year 11 students during student teaching and we talked about context and how we can see history in the writing of the time (I went on about this in my Top 10 Tuesday). I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  2. I read Frankenstein in high school, and I remember thinking how little it was like the media versions. It’s a good, thoughtful book.

    Vanity Fair made my list, partly because I want to own some of those Penguin hardcovers like you used for Emma. They’re so pretty…

  3. Glad to hear that you’re an eager beaver to read the classic classics–you can read enough for the both of us since I haven’t read too many myself outside of school (and I don’t see myself doing so anytime soon haha). From what I remember of Handmaid’s Tale, it was an okay read as far as unreliable narrators and speculative-fiction go–so I do hope you enjoy it when you get the chance.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

Leave a Reply

